James W. Stewart


Cell: 419-656-3243


Scott Leber


Cell: 419-706-5850


Michael G Parker


Cell: 419-704-2549





Copyright 2022 StatusMark and Oxford Township, Erie County, Ohio. All graphics, design, and illustrations within this website may not be reproduced in part or in whole without expressed written permission. All rights reserved.



  Regular Meeting Minutes

January 20, 2022


President James Stewart called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm with the Pledge of Allegiance. 

Roll Call:

Roll call indicated that Trustees Michael Parker, James Stewart & Scott Leber were present, also present was Phillip David, Fiscal Officer/Zoning Inspector and Road Superintendent David Kelley.


Mr. Leber moved to accept the minutes for the January 13, 2022 meeting, Mr. Parker seconded the motion. Roll was called, with all present voting yes; motion carried.


Reverend Wendy Schindler-Chasney, Minister of St. Johns United Church of Christ, along with several of the church’s board members were present at the meeting to discuss the Township taking over the care and duties of the church’s cemeteries. Reverend Wendy explained that because of an aging congregation it was hard to find a cemetery sexton within the congregation, therefore the Church is turning to the Township for possible help in maintaining the cemeteries. She explained that the church has a cemetery fund for paying expenses and upkeep, their problem is finding the manpower to accomplish it.

Some of the things discussed was the layout of the older cemetery restricting the use of a backhoe for digging the graves, who would be responsible for the administrative task of recording the burials etc. 

Mr. Parker said he would talk with Assistant Erie County Prosecutor Sue Brown about the Township responsibilities, liabilities etc. before the Township could decide to move forward with assuming the duties of be the sexton of the cemeteries.

Andy Dunlap and Fred Moffitt, Oxford Township residents were also present at the meeting to observe.

Zoning Report:

Mr. David reported that he had issued (2) permits since the last meeting;

  1. Heidi Lambert, 4409 Delematre Rd. – 23 X 24 addition to the residence
  2. Matt & Jen Parker, 6105 West Mason Rd. – total replacement of two existing porches.

Road Superintendent:

Mr. Kelley reported that he had replaced the cutting edges on the two snow plows, he said he was also in the process of restocking the salt shed.


Mr. Leber – said he didn’t have anything to report at this time. 

Mr. Parker – reviewed a letter with the other Trustees that he had received from the Erie County Community Foundation asking if Oxford Township was going to request any funds from their foundation account. After some discussion, Mr. Parker moved not to request any funds from the Township’s Community Foundation account, Mr. Leber seconded the motion. Roll was called, with all present voting yes; motion carried. 

Mr. Stewart – reported that he had visited the bank and inventoried the safety deposit box, he said there was micro-filmed documents there ranging from 1919 to 2008. It was discussed whether the micro-film should be replaced with a newer form register. No decision was made at this time.

Fiscal Officer

Mr. David said he didn’t have anything to report at this time.


Communications were reviewed 

Old Business

There was no old business to discuss.

New Business: 

Mr. Parker introduce Resolution 2022-01-01, that Oxford Township apply for funding from the “American Rescue Plan Act - Coronavirus Local Fiscal Recovery Funds for Ohio Non-Entitlement Units of Local Government. Mr. Leber seconded the motion.

Roll call for the resolution answered as such; 

Mr. Leber – yes

Mr. Parker - yes

Mr. Stewart – yes 

Mr. Stewart and Mr. David will be in charge of filing the grant application. 

Mr. Parker moved to pay the bills in the amount of $10,970.37, Mr. Leber seconded the motion. Roll was called, with all present voting yes; motion carried.

No further business, the meeting was adjourned.

James W. Stewart, President                  Phillip M. David, Fiscal Officer

Back to Meeting Minutes List